Stuck in my Head

I’ve been working for most of this weekend. I’ll be working a majority of tomorrow as well, doing some editorial work for a friend of mine, mentor really. While working I typically find myself listening to music. It allows me to have this small background noise while I work through everything.

One particular song I’ve had while I was doing my routine had been “Lift Me Up“, preformed by the fantastic Five Finger Death Punch. Not too familiar with these fantastic musicians? Here’s the song –

I decided to play it, over and over again. It spoke to me. Quite a few songs that were created by these talented artists have always spoken to me rather well. That excites me the most. When a band is able to play a song and have it speak to me, it’s fantastic.  I build stories around them, I have a deep connection with the song itself, and I find myself being unable to pull away from it.

The song speaks to me in a way of how I use to feel. I always wanted to take on the world. Have it try to spit me back out, I rarely had the chance for that to happen – maybe that’s why I never backed down from challenges. I failed, hard sometimes given how big the obstacle was in comparison.

Regardless, I loved it. Taking on hard challenges and moving on meant the world to me.

What does your favorite song mean to you? What is it? I’d love to hear.

One thought on “Stuck in my Head”

  1. lovely to be taken back to a place of inspiration through music. For me, the only creative activity I can do with music is cook. Writing demands silence, in my case.

Leave a Reply

